Fieldnotes 3

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Observation:

First proper Evolve (Thursday Night) service I’ve attended.

Still couldn’t for the life of me find the correct door.

The speaker is a middle aged woman, discussing the concept of forgiveness. References taken primarily from the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John).

Several members of the BCM, including Casey (one of my interviewees) come up to say hi.

Introduced to Scott, a fellow engineering major, who says he’s willing to be interviewed if I decide I want another interview.

The crowd gathered is a rather diverse one, and it’s pretty obvious that there are more than a few subgroups within the BCM.  The size of the crowd is more in keeping with hat I had originally expected, and matches up with the assurances I was given at my last visit that what I’d seen before was a slow night. The room is fairly packed. I’d hazard a guess of around 30-40, though I have been known to have absolutely horrible guestimation skills.

After the official meeting I’m invited to go over to Arby’s with a few people.

Reaction:

The primary thing I took away from this meeting was the overwhelming friendliness of the members of the BCM. I don’t think there was a single person in that room who wouldn’t have been willing to talk to me if I’d approached them. The size of the group is also a bit shocking. Perhaps it’s just a bit of good old American cynicism, but I’m unaccustomed to seeing a dramatic difference between ” a slow night” and a normal one.

The message presented was interesting and gratifying, if unhelpful insofar as this project is concerned. It does raise interesting questions about the nature of Christianity in a college environment that I hope to further investigate on my own.

Leave a Reply

